Shramik special trains to depart from Old Delhi Railway Station now

All the ‘Shramik special’ trains from the national capital, which are being run to enable the return of migrant workers to their native states, will now depart from Old Delhi railway station from Wednesday. 13th May 2020 onwards.

This information was provided by a top Railway official. Three such ‘Shramik special’ trains were departed from the national capital yesterday (13th May), with Bihar’s Bhagalpur, Darbhanga and Barauni as their destination. The decision has likely been taken to avoid over-crowding at the New Delhi Railway Station (NDLS) from where the passenger trains have also been restored from 12th May 2020.

Indian Railways operate 642 “Shramik Special” trains till 13th May, 2020

Subsequent to the Ministry of Home Affairs order regarding movement of migrant workers, pilgrims, tourists, students and other persons stranded at different places by special trains,Indian Railways had decided to operate “Shramik Special” trains. 

As on 13th May 2020, a total of 642 “Shramik Special” trains have been operationalized from various states across the country. Around 7.90 Lacs passengers have reached their home State. Trains being run by Railways only after concurrence is given both by the State which is sending the passengers and the State which is receiving them. 

These 642 trains were terminated in various states like Andhra Pradesh (3 Trains), Bihar (169 Trains), Chattisgarh (6 Trains), Himachal Pradesh (1 Train), Jammu & Kashmir (3 Trains), Jharkhand (40 Trains), Karnataka (1 Train), Madhya Pradesh (53 Trains), Maharashtra (3 Trains), Manipur (1 Train), Mizoram (1 Train), Odisha (38 Trains), Rajasthan(8 Trains), Tamil Nadu (1 Train), Telangana(1 Train), Tripura (1 Train),  Uttar Pradesh (301 Trains), Uttarakhand (4 Trains), West Bengal(7 Trains).

Proper screening of passengers is ensured before boarding the train. During the journey, passengers are given free meals and water.